top of page
  • Writer's pictureDarl Collins

Let us talk about Dads



As Father’s Day is this month I am reminded of the resolution from the movie “Courageous”. A man should look on this as a list of priorities that they should strive for. A women should see these statements as goals they would like the man in their life to achieve. Ideally, a DAD should be ready to tackle this head on.

THE RESOLUTION

I. I do solemnly resolve before God to take full responsibility for myself, my wife, and my children. 1 Tim 5:8

II. I WILL love them, protect them, serve them, and teach them the Word of God as the spiritual leader of my home. John 5:19

III. I WILL be faithful to my wife, to love and honor her, and be wiling t lay down my life for her as Jesus Christ did for me. Eph 5:25

IV. I WILL bless my children and teach them to love God with all of their hearts, all of their minds, and all of their strength. Prov 22:6

V. I WILL train them to honor authority and live responsibly. 1 Peter 2:13-17

VI. I WILL confront evil, pursue justice, and love mercy. Luke 6:36

VII. I WILL pray for others and treat them with kindness, respect, and compassion. Matthew 5:43-44

VIII. I WILL work diligently t provide for the needs of my family. ! Tim 5:8

IX. I WILL forgive those who have wronged me and reconcile with those I have wronged. Luke 6:37

X. I WILL learn from my mistakes, repent of my sins, and walk with integrity as a man answerable to God. Prov 1:5

XI. I WILL seek to honor God, be faithful t His church, obey His Word, and do His will. John 14:15

XII. I WILL courageously work with the strength God provides to fulfill this resolution for the rest of my life and for His glory. 1 Cor 10:31


As for me and my house, we will serve the Lord. – Joshua 24:15


A good exercise would be to read the supplied verses about the resolution items. A better exercise would be to find other verses that back up the resolution.

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page