top of page
  • Writer's pictureDarl Collins

Is Everything Relative?



As we experience life, we figure out some things are true, and some things are not. On a deeper level some things are absolutely true, and some things might be true. Some people say this means that everything is relative. Think hard and realize the first five sentences in this document, including this one, are absolutely true. Thus, relative truth is just a deception. Some samples follow.

Paragraph 1

1) They shouldn’t have left it out like that. It shouldn’t matter what you do as long as you don’t hurt anybody. Why can’t I have what I want. Just give it to me because I want it. That is not fair (to me). I should have the same things that everybody else does. I needed it and they won’t even miss it. My parents don’t deserve my respect until they give it to me. Lying is sometimes best. If there is a God, he doesn’t care about me. I need to earn as much as possible to be happy. As long as my spouse doesn’t figure it out, it will be OK. I got this for free.

Paragraph 2

2) You should love God and but nothing above him. Don’t but anything else in his place. Do not use his name badly and don’t forget to honor and worship him one day a week. Your mother and father deserve your respect. You should never murder or lie or steal. Marriage should never be defiled. You don’t need other people’s stuff.


Paragraph one is full of relative statements. Paragraph two is full of absolutes. Two should ring a bell. Often, we try to justify our actions with worldly truths (paragraph one). That is when we look over, under or around (paragraph two) the Ten Commandments.


Or do you not know that the unrighteous will not inherit the kingdom of God? Do not be deceived: neither the sexually immoral, nor idolaters, nor adulterers, nor men who practice homosexuality, nor thieves, nor the greedy, nor drunkards, nor revilers, nor swindlers will inherit the kingdom of God. And such were some of you. But you were washed, you were sanctified, you were justified in the name of the Lord Jesus Christ and by the Spirit of our God. (1 Corinthians 6:9-11)


None of us are good enough (Romans 3:23). We are all guilty. We all need the absolute truth of God. Jesus said, “The time is fulfilled, and the kingdom of God is at hand. Repent, and believe in the gospel.” (Mark 1:14-15)


If everything is relative, and/or you can’t find any absolute truths you are like Eve in the Garden of Eden when the serpent said (lied) you will not die if you eat the fruit, but you will be like God. Instead of listening to him why not listen to Jesus who said:

I am the way the truth and the life (John 14:6) In Matthew 22:37-39 Jesus said love the Lord God with all your heart, mind and soul. He also said love your neighbor as yourself.

Satan’s lies or the Absolute love of Jesus Christ.


Think about it.






21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page